Health and care leaders among those recognised in 2024 New Year Honours List

A picture of a man smiling
A picture of a man smiling

NHS Cheshire and Merseyside’s Chair and Chief Executive have congratulated all 26 people from Cheshire and Merseyside who were recognised in the 2024 New Year Honours List.

Among those recognised were Prof Simon Kenny (pictured) – a consultant paediatric and neonatal surgeon at Alder Hey – who has been awarded an OBE and Kathryn Roberts, Chief Executive of the Association of Mental Health Providers, who was awarded an MBE.

Outside of Cheshire and Merseyside, regional chief nurse James Mclean was also awarded an MBE.

Graham Urwin, NHS Cheshire and Merseyside’s Chief Executive, said: "On behalf of NHS Cheshire and Merseyside, Raj Jain and I would like to congratulate everyone who received well-deserved recognition in the 2024 New Year’s Honours List.

"The single most important driver of Cheshire and Merseyside’s health and care system is the expertise and dedication of its people."

Recipients of New Year Honours from across Cheshire and Merseyside were:

  • Prof Simon Kenny - National Clinical Director for Children and Young People, NHS England and Consultant Paediatric Surgeon, Alder Hey Children's Hospital. For services to Paediatric Surgery.
  • Kathryn Roberts - Chief Executive Officer, Association of Mental Health Providers. For services to Mental Health.
  • Dr Catherine Hubbert - Macmillan General Practitioner and Founder, Woodlands Hospice Charitable Trust. For services to Palliative Care.
  • Prof Saye Khoo - Professor of Pharmacology and Therapeutics, University of Liverpool. For services to Infectious Diseases and Pharmacology.
  • Dr Crispin Pailing - Member, Merseyside Resilience Forum and Safety Advisory Group. For services to the community in Liverpool, Merseyside.
  • Elizabeth Hawkins - For services to Young People and to the community in Wirral, Merseyside.
  • Pauline Higgins - For services to the community in Liverpool, Merseyside.
  • Anne Jones - For services to the community in Neston, Cheshire.
  • Joan Prescott - For services to Young People and to the community in Melling, Merseyside.
  • Kenneth Salter - For services to the community in Ellesmere Port, Cheshire.
  • Heather Akehurst - Chief Executive, Open Awards. For services to Further Education in Merseyside.
  • Ian Jones - For services to Education in Merseyside.
  • Prof Philip Diamond - Director General, Square Kilometre Array Observatory. For services to Global Radio Astronomy.
  • Thomas Critchley - Data Scientist, Prime Minister's Office. For services to Evidence-Based Policy.
  • Dr Christopher Johnson - Forensic Pathologist, Home Office. For services to Criminal Justice.
  • Amanda Lear - Enforcement Case Manager, Department for Work and Pensions. For services to the community in Moreton, Merseyside.
  • Thomas Meadows - Lead Operations Manager, Security Services Group, Defence Infrastructure Organisation. For services to Defence.
  • Paul Arnold - Deputy Chief Executive and Chief Operating Officer, Information Commissioner's Office. For services to Regulation and to Equality, Diversity and Inclusion.
  • Thomas Bosworth - For services to Race Walking.
  • Khumi Burton - For services to the community in Manchester and Cheshire.
  • Donna Dawber - News and Campaigns Manager, Merseyside Police. For services to Law and Order.
  • Mary Earps - For services to Association Football.
  • Lauren Hemp - For services to Association Football.
  • Elizabeth Gorb - Director of Apprenticeships, Manchester Metropolitan University. For services to Education and Skills.
  • Norah Button-Brookwell - Founder and Principal, Liverpool Theatre School. For services to Dance and Theatre.
  • Rev Canon Diane Cookson - For services to St Saviour's Parish Church and to the community in Stockport, Greater Manchester.